Posted by: livingscripture | May 12, 2013

Seventh Sunday of Easter

From the Word of the Day

“Lifting up his eyes to Heaven, Jesus prayed saying: ‘Holy Father, I pray not only for them, but also for those who will believe in me though their word, so that they may all be one, as you, Father, are in me and I in you, that they also may be in us, that the world may believe that you sent me.”  (John 17: 20-26)

             

How should we live this Word? community

In this passage Jesus reveals the burning desire of His heart: oneness; to be one with Him and with each other, to be one in the Father.  We have been created to be in relationship, not only with God, but also with each other as part of Christ’s Mystical Body.  Thus, Jesus insisted on the greatest commandment of all in its double aspect of love of God and love of all our sisters and brothers.  It is a love that must be active, pleasing God by reaching out to others, by forgiving, by our compassion and empathy.

In His prayer, Jesus was thinking of all who would believe in Him through the word of the apostles and disciples; He was thinking of you and me who believe that He was sent by the Father and that He is God.  How can we bring about the unity Jesus prays for?  We can do it only by living in Him, with Him, and for Him, by assimilating His Word and living it in our day to day routine.  His grace is sufficient for us and we can daily draw upon it in the sacraments, and through our constant awareness of His presence within us and in everyone else.

Today in my pause for silent contemplation, I will adore the God dwelling in my depths and ask Him to enable me to love Him in my sisters and brothers, thus working to bring about the unity He desires.

Lord, break down the barriers that impede Your love within me.  Let me be an active and eager member of Your Body on earth, the Church, receiving from her the strength to live in You.

The Voice of Paul Claudel, Poet, Playwright, Diplomat 

“Alone and unaided I am unable to know God or be known by him.  I need the whole Church!  It is only through this social organization that I come into my own and find, by being born into it, the pathway to understanding and power.  What joy to find and give myself utterly, my whole self effectively; not just give all of myself, but give all to all.”

 


Leave a comment

Categories