Posted by: livingscripture | May 11, 2013

Sixth Saturday of Easter

From the Word of the Day

“Apollos…began to speak boldly in the synagogue; but when Priscilla and Aquila heard him, they took him aside and explained to him the Way of God more accurately.”  (Acts 18: 26)

            

How should we live this Word? Priscilla  Aquila

This is a small picture of authentic Christian witness.  The interests of God are in first place and they are pursued with personal detachment and apostolic zeal.  The arrival of Apollos and his fervent and convincing words do not arouse jealously in the couple.  They listen to him and grasp the gaps, but they do not blame him or denigrate him.  Thus, they do not diminish him in the opinion of the people out of fear of losing their prestige among them.  They call him apart and explain with greater clarity Christ’s thought, so that he can put his own gifts at God’s disposition.  When Apollos manifests his desire to go to Achaia, they encourage him and prepare the way for him by predisposing the hearts of the faithful there to receive him.

Pope Francis invited us in one of his talks to remove the idols from our heart that we create, perhaps unknowingly.  Among these idols, he named that of wanting to prevail over others, to affirm ourselves and thus be admired.  These are dark evils that insinuate themselves easily in our depths and spoil the noblest intentions.  They render our apostolic work vain and they empty our words through the counter-witness of a life that is incoherent.

Aquila and Priscilla teach us the exact opposite.  If God is at the center, there is no more room for my ego.  If I see someone who can serve God, it generates joy not jealousy, and it leads me to open my hand in a generous gesture of friendship and helpfulness, willingly sharing the divine gift received and to be used with intelligence and generosity.

Today in my pause for silent contemplation, I will look into my heart to see if there is any jealousy lurking there at the success of others and I will ask Jesus to uproot it and give me only His love and joy.  

Help me Lord to get rid of all my idols.  Let me be Your passionate witness, showing with my life Your love, Your goodness, Your generosity. 

The Voice of Blessed John Paul II

Man of our times!  Christ will free you from egoism to call you to sharing and quick and joyful dedication to others.

 


Leave a comment

Categories