Posted by: livingscripture | May 26, 2024

I AM BAPTIZED IN THE TRINITY…

FRIENDS and SERVANTS of the WORD

26 MAY 2024   TRINITY SUNDAY

WORD of the DAY 
The eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain to which Jesus had ordered them.
When they all saw him, they worshiped, but they doubted. Then Jesus approached and said to them, “All power in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, until the end of the age.”                     
(Matthew 28:  16-20)

How shall I live this Word?   

The solemnity we are celebrating today invites us to immerse ourselves in this great mystery of our faith. A very ancient hymn expresses with such depth the sense of this mystery. The first verse says, “Light is the Father, light from light the Son, light is the Holy Spirit, fire in our hearts. Holy Trinity, we worship you!” Light is an image that expresses the mystery of God. God is a mystery of love, truth, peace, eternity, sublimity, and love. All truths contained in evangelical revelation.

The door that immerses us in the participation of this mystery, of this light that transcends us is Baptism, the first sacrament that makes us members of the Ecclesial Community; a Community that has its roots in the Trinitarian Communion. In today’s Gospel, we see Jesus inviting His disciples to go to all peoples, “baptizing them in the name of the Father, of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.” I can go before this great mystery of the Trinity and the Word of God that was given to me today and ask myself, have I been baptized? have I deepened the meaning of my Baptism? How do I live the relationship with God, one and Triune in which I believe and have been immersed in my Baptism?

PRAYER TO THE MOST HOLY TRINITY

Most Holy Trinity, Infinite Mercy, I trust and hope in You!

Most Holy Trinity, Infinite Mercy, in the impenetrable Light of the Father who loves and creates;

Most Holy Trinity, Infinite Mercy, in the Face of the Son who is the Word that is given;

Most Holy Trinity, Infinite Mercy, in the burning Fire of the Spirit that gives life;

Most Holy Trinity, Infinite Mercy, I trust and hope in You! You, who gave yourself to me, arrange for me to give everything to You: make me a witness of Your love,

in Christ my Brother, my Redeemer and my King.

Most Holy Trinity, Infinite Mercy, I trust and hope in You!

The voice of THE CATECHISM OF THE CATHOLIC CHURCH

Incorporated into the Church through Baptism, the faithful have received the sacramental character that consecrates them for Christian religious worship. The baptismal seal enables and commits Christians to serve God through a living participation in the Church’s holy liturgy and to exercise their baptismal priesthood with the witness of a holy life and with active charity.” (No. 1273)

_________________________________________________________________________

 


Leave a comment

Categories