Posted by: livingscripture | May 2, 2024

LOVE ALONE COUNTS

FRIENDS and SERVANTS of the WORD

2 MAY 2024   EASTER THURSDAY 5

WORD of the DAY 

Jesus said to his disciples: “As the Father loves me, so I also love you.
Remain in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love,
just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love.
“I have told you this so that my joy might be in you and your joy might be complete.”                                   
(John 15: 9-11)

How shall I live this Word?   

“As the Father loves me, so I love you”, says Jesus. The Father’s being is loving and being loved by the Son. This love, the life of God, is given to the Son and we are participants in the Trinitarian life, because the love between the Father and the Son is the Holy Spirit.

Jesus tells us that He loves us and asks us to remain in His love. He asks us not to run away, not to leave. He asks us to believe that remaining in His love, letting ourselves be loved by Him is the only way to live the commandment of love for God and for our brothers and sisters that He has indicated. If I remain in His love and let myself be loved by Jesus, then that love will pass let through my life the love I receive, the Spirit. Then, I will have the strength to love those who live beside me for the love of Jesus. From here comes joy, true joy, true happiness!

O Holy Spirit, make us whole with Your presence!

The voice of Pope Francis Meditation at St. Martha 18 May 2017

The core of the commandments is one: the Father’s love for Jesus and Jesus’ love for us […] The Lord asks us to remain in love. But there are other loves in life. The world also offers us many loves: love of money for example, love of vanity, showing off, love of pride, love of power, even doing many unjust things to have more power. But in this case, they are ‘other loves’ that are not of Jesus and are not of the Father. He asks us to remain in His love, which is the love of the Father.

_________________________________________________________________________

 


Leave a comment

Categories