Posted by: livingscripture | April 27, 2024

JESUS & THE FATHER ARE ONE!

FRIENDS and SERVANTS of the WORD

27 April 2024   EASTER SATURDAY 4

WORD of the DAY 

Jesus said to his disciples: “If you know me, then you will also know my Father.
From now on you do know him and have seen him.” Philip said to Jesus, “Master, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us.” Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you for so long a time and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on my own. The Father who dwells in me is doing his works. Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or else, believe because of the works themselves. Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever believes in me will do the works that I do, and will do greater ones than these, because I am going to the Father. And whatever you ask in my name, I will do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.
                                          (John 14: 7-14)

How shall I live this Word?   

In this passage of the Gospel, Jesus’ farewell discourse, Jesus tells the disciples that He goes to the Father, He emphasizes that He will be with the Father. We can say that this passage is, in the Gospel of John, the declaration of His ascent to the Father. Jesus, in His mission, manifested the face of the Father; all His work was accomplished to make us know God as Father, an infinitely loving Father. To Philip’s question, “Show us the Father and that will be enough for us”, it seems that Jesus is deeply surprised and answers, “Have I been with you for a long time and you have not known Me Philip? Whoever saw me, saw the Father.” Almost as if to say, “You have not understood anything!” And yes, perhaps it is not easy for us to understand the existence of the mutual immanence of the Father in the Son and the Son in the Father. Perhaps only by entering into a dialogue of deep love, of intimate knowledge, can we understand these mysteries: I can know the Father only through Jesus.  And Jesus also asks each of us, “Do you know me? Have I been with you for such a long time and you do not know Me yet?” The Love that you experience in Me, with Me, for Me is the love of the Father!

Teach me to let myself be loved by Jesus! I will feel like a daughter/son and I will be able to whisper the sweet words of Father! AMEN!

The voice of Pope Francis – Homily 10 May 2020

The Father was always present in the life of Jesus, and Jesus spoke of it. Jesus prayed to the Father. And many times, He spoke of the Father who cares for us, as He cares for the birds, the lilies of the field… The Father. And when the disciples asked Him to learn to pray, Jesus taught them to pray to the Father: ‘Our Father’ (Mt 6:9). He always turns to the Father. But in this passage, it is very strong; and also, it is as if it opened the doors of the omnipotence of prayer. “For I am with the Father: you ask and I will do everything. Because the Father will do it with me” (Jn 14:11). This trust in the Father, trust in the Father who is capable of doing everything. This courage to pray, because it takes courage to pray!

_________________________________________________________________________

 


Leave a comment

Categories