Posted by: livingscripture | June 27, 2024

Build your life on Jesus…

FRIENDS and SERVANTS of the WORD

27 JUNE 2024   THURSDAY X11

WORD of the DAY 

Jesus said to his disciples: “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the Kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name? Did we not drive out demons in your name? Did we not do mighty deeds in your name?’ Then I will declare to them solemnly, ‘I never knew you. Depart from me, you evildoers.’ “Everyone who listens to these words of mine and acts on them will be like a wise man who built his house on rock. The rain fell, the floods came, and the winds blew and buffeted the house. But it did not collapse; it had been set solidly on rock. And everyone who listens to these words of mine but does not act on them will be like a fool who built his house on sand. The rain fell, the floods came, and the winds blew and buffeted the house. And it collapsed and was completely ruined.” When Jesus finished these words, the crowds were astonished at his teaching, for he taught them as one having authority, and not as their scribes.                                          (Matthew 7: 21-29)

How shall I live this Word?   

“Not who says… but who does …”. The Lord Jesus spoke these words at the end of the Sermon on the Mount in which he outlined the profile of the Christian. In another passage Jesus says, “Go and you do the same”. The Word we heard yesterday reminded us, “by their fruits you will recognize them”. It is clear therefore.  Christians are always recognized by their actions. In a world where those who yell the most, those who shout, those who enchant with easy words win, we are called to witness with life, with concrete actions, with simple and clear choices. This Word helps us to open our relationship with God, certainly personal and intimate, to the fraternal dimension, through concrete gestures. It urges us to “go out” of ourselves to bring fruits of reconciliation and hope to others.

The discourse on the mountain continues and ends with an invitation, “Whoever hears these words of mine and puts them into practice will be like a wise man, who built his house on the rock.”  The disciple must lean on Christ (the rock 1Cor 10:1-4; 1pt 2:1-10; Mt 21:42), the only one capable of making the disciple’s faith unshakable, of removing it from fragility. The Christian project cannot rely on our strength, but only on God’s love. It is in God’s power that we find our consistency. Prayer and action, listening and practice are equally important. Life has its daily trials. The storm falls on the house built on sand and the same on the house built on rock. But it is always the Word that takes root in me that makes me repeat, “You, Lord, are a rock of refuge for me” and it is the Lord who will be the consistency of my life.

In my meditative pause, I will pray with the words of Psalm 30, “Be for me a rock of refuge, a fortified place that saves me. Because You are my rock and my fortress; by Your name guide me and lead me.”

The voice of Pope Francis   Discourse of 9-19-2014

Let us sow and bear witness. Witness is the beginning of an evangelization that touches the heart and transforms it. Words without witness are useless; they do not serve! Witness is the one that brings and gives validity to the word.

_________________________________________________________________________

 


Leave a comment

Categories