Posted by: livingscripture | October 12, 2023

PERSEVERE in PRAYER

FRIENDS and SERVANTS of the WORD

Thursday 27 of Ordinary Time

October 12, 2023

WORD of the DAY 

Jesus said to his disciples: “Suppose one of you has a friend to whom he goes at midnight and says, ‘Friend, lend me three loaves of bread, for a friend of mine has arrived at my house from a journey and I have nothing to offer him,’ and he says in reply from within, ‘Do not bother me; the door has already been locked and my children and I are already in bed. I cannot get up to give you anything.’ I tell you, if he does not get up to give him the loaves because of their friendship, he will get up to give him whatever he needs because of his persistence. And I tell you, ask and you will receive; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives; and the one who seeks, finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.     (Luke 11: 5- 13)

How shall I live this Word?     

Who doesn’t know, in difficult times, that they need God’s help? As much as we want to believe that we are strong, there are many situations that come in life that show us our strength is not enough. We are weak, and we need God’s help. For this, we need to pray. Almost everyone prays, some constantly, some only in the most difficult moments. We often do not persevere in prayer. It is easy to pray when the need is worrying and distressing. To persevere in prayer, we must remember how much we need it in the awareness that perseverance in prayer is not easy because it is difficult for us to believe that God will truly listen to us and respond. What we need to be more constant in prayer is to understand that God truly listens and answers prayers made according to His love. In today’s Word, Jesus helps us to understand God’s heart towards us, drawing a parallel with what men do regarding requests made insistently by friends. This makes us understand how much more God will respond when we pray with perseverance.

Father, increase my faith, help me understand Your heart better. Jesus, show me what I should pray for.

The voice of Andrew Parker, British ex-Official

I will never stop dreaming. I will have strength to win, courage not to give up, patience to persist.

____________________________________________________________________________

 


Leave a comment

Categories