Posted by: livingscripture | January 19, 2022

Trust the Lord

FRIENDS and SERVANTS of the WORD

Wednesday 19 January 2022

Ordinary Time 2

WORD of the DAY 

Blessed be the LORD, my rock,
            who trains my hands for battle, my fingers for war.
(Psalm 144 :1)

How shall I live this Word?  

This verse is intimately connected with what we read in the first reading in “I come to you in the name of the Lord” (1Sam 17: 45). St. Paul also exhorts us, “For the rest, strengthen yourselves in the Lord and in the strength of his power. Put on the armor of God to be able to resist the snares of the devil. Our battle … ” (Eph 6: 10-11).

To allow the Lord to train us and let us win in our battles against evil, which is within and around us, we need prayer and worship, as mentioned in the reflection on Monday 17. Our relationship with Christ and Mary Most Holy is fundamental and for us Catholics the prayer of the Rosary has an important role if we live it as a contemplative prayer to Learn Christ from Mary, Conform to Christ with Mary, and Proclaim Christ with Mary, as written by Pope John Paul II in Rosarium Virginis Mariæ in chapter 1. Only from this intimate and profound relationship can we draw the right energies to overcome fears and to have the strength and courage to face any difficulty, internal or external.

Lord Jesus, grant me the strength to entrust myself more and more to You in every event of my life.

The Voice of St. Faustina Kowalska, Diary of Divine Mercy 

My daughter, I want to instruct you about the spiritual battle.  Never rely on yourself, but entrust yourself completely to My Will.  In abandonment, in darkness, in doubts of every kind, have recourse to Me and to your spiritual director who will always respond in my name.  Do not enter into discussion with any temptation…



Leave a comment

Categories