Posted by: livingscripture | June 11, 2017

SOLEMNITY OF THE MOST BLESSED TRINITY

 

FRIENDS and SERVANTS of the WORD

June 11, 2017

SOLEMNITY OF THE MOST BLESSED TRINITY

 

 

 

WORD of the DAY

For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him might not perish but might have eternal life.  For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world might be saved through him. (John 3: 16-17)

How shall I live this Word

God so loved the world that it overflowed, so to say, in his Trinitarian essence, love-communion.  The essence of God is this love: the Father and the Son love each other so much that their reciprocal love is a third person: the Holy Spirit.  It is the highest mystery of our faith.  Our intelligence cannot understand it, but, illumined by the Holy Spirit, it can intuit the splendors precisely because it is the heart of the mystery; it is love.  Our heart tells us that only for love, for the happiness of being loved and of loving can we exist.

The unity of God proclaimed by the Old Testament and defended from the confusion of polytheism that abounded around the people of Israel, is not contradicted but rather exalted in the New Testament.  This revelation of God is completed and more profoundly illuminated by telling us that this One God is a God of relationship, a God whose love is dynamic, communion.

Yes, I am the temple of Your Trinity Love, my God!  Guide me and make me aware…descend often into my heart so that I can perceive Your love, because in You, in Your being relationship, I can purify and intensify my life of relationship with my sisters and brothers, learning to love them in You and with You. 

The Voice of a holy French Nun, St. Elizabeth of the Trinity 

O my God, Trinity whom I adore, help me to forget myself entirely to establish myself in You, immobile and quiet as though my soul were already in eternity.  May nothing disturb my peace nor draw me outside of You, O My Unchangeable One, but at every instant bring me deeper into the profundity of Your Mystery.

___________________________________________________________________________

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

