Posted by: livingscripture | May 25, 2017

Sixth Thursday of Eastertide

 

FRIENDS and SERVANTS of the WORD

May 25, 2017

SIXTH THURSDAY OF EASTERTIDE

 

WORD of the DAY 

“A little while and you will no longer see me, and again a little while later and you will see me.”  So some of his disciples said to one another, “What does this mean that he is saying to us, ‘A little while and you will not see me, and again a little while and you will see me,’ and ‘Because I am going to the Father’?”  So they said, “What is this ‘little while’ [of which he speaks]? We do not know what he means.”.                      (John 16 : 16-18)

How shall I live this Word?

This enigmatic discourse will only become clear for the disciples after the Resurrection as it is clear for us as we read the Gospels.  It speaks of two moments.  In the first, the disciples will see Him for a while yet, before He dies and disappears into the tomb.  In the second, they will then see Him as the Risen One.  These are Good Friday and Holy Saturday, two days of mourning that lead to the third day, that of endless joy!  It is the mystery of Easter which imbues every human life!  It is a Mystery that is hard to understand if we are not guided by His Spirit!

We were not made for suffering, for sorrow, for death, Lord, we were not made for this because You did not create them.  They entered the world through sin.  But You have conquered sin and has restored hope so that we would not succumb under pain, under suffering.  The more we remain united to You,  the more we are strengthened with Your power, the more we return to life and to believe in all that is true, beautiful, and good.

The Voice of Rabindranath Tagore

 I desire you, I desire you, only you, this my heart repeats without end.  They are false and empty the desires that continually take me from you.  Like the night in its darkness hides the desire for the light, thus in the depths of my unconsciousness resounds this cry:  I desire you, only you.  Like the tempest seeks its end in peace, even if it fights against peace with all its fury, so too my rebellion fights against your love, and yet it cries out:  I desire you, only you.

 

___________________________________________________________________________

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

