Posted by: livingscripture | May 5, 2017

Third Friday of Eastertide

 

FRIENDS and SERVANTS of the WORD

May 5, 2017

THIRD FRIDAY OF EASTERTIDE

 

 

WORD of the DAY 

Just as the living Father sent me and I have life because of the Father, so also the one who feeds on me will have life because of me. (John 6: 57)

How shall I live this Word?

In just one verse, life is recalled three times: it indicates the source in the Father; its sparkling flow that is brought to us in His Son Jesus; the basin that receives it in each of us.  The image of Ezekiel comes to mind: the water that flowed from the altar and begins to run, becoming a navigable river on whose shores grow lush and beneficent  vegetation.  Yes, it is toward this fullness and fruitfulness that our life flows in  keeping with God’s intention.  However, it is necessary to never interrupt our connection with the Source, rising gradually along the course of the living water.

“Eating Christ” allows the Spirit to impregnate our life with Him to the point of being able to say with St. Paul: “It is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me”, in my thoughts, my feelings, my very will; all of my being must exude Christ.  For this to happen, I must nourish myself on Him, Word and Bread, and, just as food nourishes our body, the daily encounter with His life becomes mine and my actions acquire a new density; they are imbued with love.

Today, as I pause for contemplation, I will reconfirm my commitment to nourish myself daily of Christ-Word, and a far as possible, of Christ –Bread.

Thank You Jesus, for continuing to break Your Bread so that nourished by You, we can live of You.

The Voice of Pope Francis

 Living the experience of faith means rediscovering the plan the Lord has for us; returning to the essentials of the desert that make emerge the true needs of humanity, well beyond the obsessive desire for material things to consume.  It leads us to experience that we do not live by bread alone, but that it is necessary to entrust ourselves to the Word of God.  The Eucharist is the mysterious bread that recalls us to this need of another food for the life of the world.

___________________________________________________________________________

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

