Posted by: livingscripture | April 3, 2017

Fifth Monday of Lent

 

 

 

WORD of the DAY

 

Let the one among you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her.   (John 8: 8)

How shall I live this Word?

They bring a woman caught in adultery to Jesus and remind Him that the Law of Moses prescribed that such women must be stoned.  But Jesus first writes on the ground, then tells the accusers that the one who is without sin should throw the first stone (evidently none of them is sinless…pure to be able to accept this invitation).   Then He turns to the woman and invites her to not sin anymore.

Before God who is all merciful and just, is this poor sinner whom we can consider as the symbol of all of humanity.  God knows our weakness, but He exhorts us to overcome it, beginning a new life, symbolized in the word “Go” (John 8:11), that is, begin a journey of a new life that will correct the past and blossom into holiness.

O Lord, grant that I may always rejoice in Your goodness and remediate my sin, glorifying You with a new life, in justice and holiness.

 

The voice of St. John Marie Vianney, the Cure of Ars

 Leave aside the behavior of our neighbor and let us be content with saying to ourselves like King David: “My God, grant me the grace of knowing myself as I am, so that I may see what may be displeasing to you and I may correct myself, repent, and obtain Your forgiveness.

____________________________________________________________________

 

I

Leave a Reply

Categories

