Posted by: livingscripture | April 1, 2017

Fourth Saturday of Lent

 

 

WORD of the DAY

 

O Lord, my God, in You I take refuge; save me from my pursuers and rescue me, lest I become like lion’s prey, to be torn to pieces, with no one to rescue me.   (Psalm 7)

How shall I live this Word?

We are meditating on the beauty of living in the truth and in justice, but we are also seeing how difficult and contested is the meekness of those who live this way, arousing violent and aggressive feelings in those who have chosen  falsehood as their rule of life.  The innocent are threatened on every side even by the media and are like lambs led to the slaughter.  Migrants and refugees  or women killed by the jealousy of men or kidnapped by fake religious leaders capable only of fanaticism and murder, or people fleeing war torn countries in flimsy boats and the list goes on and on.  And thus, Christ’s passion goes on and on as well.

Lord, do not allow my laziness and indifference lead me to close my eyes on all this injustice and suffering.  Let me do what I can to alleviate and help  these people knowing that what I do for them I do for you.

 

The voice of the Liturgy

 Blessed are they who keep the Word of God with an integral and good heart and produce fruit through perseverance.

____________________________________________________________________

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

