Posted by: livingscripture | March 30, 2017

Fourth Thursday of Lent

 

 

WORD of the DAY

 But there is another who testifies on my behalf, and I know that the testimony he gives on my behalf is true.   (John 5: 31)

How shall I live this Word?

In John’s Gospel today, we see again in a very dramatic way, the conflict between Jesus and the Jews.  Long and complex discourses tell of the evolution of an understanding of the mission of Jesus that leads either to faith or to rejection.  Jesus is scandalous; He places Himself as a stumbling block above all on the road of those who want to provoke Him and fight against Him.  His every word demolishes and knocks down the hypocritical religious system of the Jews and exalts the revelation that leads to faith.  He is not afraid to say that the one who assures the truthfulness of His testimony is God Himself.

Lord, the discourses of Jesus are prolonged in time.  They are not only addressed to the Jews of that time.  Today, He speaks to us and asks us to take a position in His regard.  Sustain our witness of faith; help us to not cultivate atheistic religiosity.

 

The voice of the Liturgy: Communion Antiphon

 I will place my law within them, and I will write it upon their hearts; and I will be their God and they shall be my people, says the lord.

 

____________________________________________________________________

 

I

Leave a Reply

Categories

