Posted by: livingscripture | March 9, 2017

First Thursday of Lent

 

WORD of the DAY

Which one of you would hand his son a stone when he asks for a loaf of bread,  or a snake when he asks for a fish?  If you then, who are wicked, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good things to those who ask him.  (Matthew 7: 7-12)                       

How shall I live this Word?image047- creation

Today, Jesus continues to teach us about prayer using family experiences that help us to keep in mind the background of our prayer which is the existential rapport between father and son.  The child asks with confidence, knowing that the father’s love will answer his request.

Jesus raises this to the divine level.  If this father/child rapport is true for our earthly experience for us who are ‘wicked’, how more will it be infinitely true of our heavenly Father!  In fact, Christian prayer is never a gesture done before a vending machine that gives us what we ask.  Prayer always presupposes a filial dialog with the Father who “knows what we need before we even ask Him”.

Today, I will make mine the beautiful prayer of Charles de Foucauld, so full of affection toward the Father.

The voice Blessed Charles de Foucauld

My Father, I abandon myself to you; do with me what pleases You.  I thank You for whatever you do with me.  I am ready for everything; I accept everything.  May Your will always be done in me, in all creatures.  I desire nothing else, my God.  I entrust my soul into Your hands.  I give it to You, my God, with all the love of my heart because I love You, and it is a need of my love to give myself, to place myself in Your hands without reserve, with infinite trust, because You are my Father.

___________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

