Posted by: livingscripture | March 4, 2017

Saturday after Ash Wednesday

 

 

 

WORD of the DAY

After this he went out and saw a tax collector named Levi sitting at the customs post. He said to him, “Follow me.” And leaving everything behind, he got up and followed him.      (Luke 5: 27:28)                               

 

 

How shall I live this Word?Matthew 3

Jesus repeatedly asks us to let ourselves be encountered by Him; to let ourselves be pierced by His gaze.  There is no need to defend ourselves.  If we let Him enter into our heart, our mind, not even the idols that have held us bound to ‘the tax table’ will be able to stop our new life.  Following Jesus overwhelms all else!  The Lord makes us new.  This is our Lenten journey: to let ourselves be encountered by Jesus and thus be authentic Christians.

I seek You with all my heart.  Grant that I may never distance myself from Your commandments. Each day, my life is consumed awaiting Your will.  I have chosen the way of truth.  I keep Your will ever before me!  (Psalm 118).

The voice of Pope Francis

Coming to Rome, I always stayed in the Via della Scrofa.  From there, I often visited the French Church of St. Louis, and there I went to contemplate the picture of the vocation of St. Matthew of Caravaggio.  That finger of Jesus thus…toward Matthew.  This is how I am.  This is how I feel.  Like Matthew.  It is the gesture of Matthew that strikes me.  He grabs his money as though saying, “No, not me!  This is not my money!”  This is me: “a sinner on whom the Lord turned His eyes”.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

