Posted by: livingscripture | January 8, 2017

Baptism of Jesus Sunday, January 8

 

 

WORD of the DAY

And a voice came from the heavens, saying, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased. (Matthew  3: 17 )

How shall I live this Word?db_16-baptism_of_our_lord21

Today we celebrate the feast of the Baptism of Jesus.  He identified with us and accepted to be baptized before beginning His public life.  His first divine manifestation is described: the heavens open, the dove appears, the voice of the Father is heard that proclaims Jesus the Beloved Son and the One with whom He is well pleased (Cf. Mt. 3: 17).  We can say that the whole Trinity is present in this solemn act that inaugurates the earthly mission of God’s Son.  Defining Jesus as the beloved Son shows His vocation: to be the Son obedient to the Father until death (Cf. Phil. 2: 8).

The feast reminds each of us  to revive our appreciation of our Baptism that made us children of God, inserted into a community of salvation (the Church), and makes us worthy of Heaven after a life lived in conformity with the Gospel.

Baptism opened to us a journey of faith, of hope, of charity:  therefore, we are called to give witness to our love for Christ and for our neighbor.  We too can ask ourselves: Can our heavenly Father as He looks at each one of us say, You are my beloved child?  This feast of Jesus’ Baptism is also an examination of conscience for us.  As Christians, do we entrust ourselves to God and witness to His love in our daily life?

O God, Good Father, I want to thank You with all my heart for the gift of holy Baptism through which I became Your child and living temple of the Holy Spirit.  I thank You because with the water of Baptism you have resurrected me with Christ and have filled my soul with the splendor of Your grace.  I want to renew now, my baptismal promises  which commit me to live in the holiness of God’s children.  Preserve me in faith, hope, and charity, and grant that I may be faithful to Your law my whole life.  Amen.

The Voice of Pope Francis

Baptism is the sacrament on which our very faith is founded and grafts us as living members into Christ and in His Church…we are called to live our Baptism every day as an actual reality in our existence.  (General Audience of January 8, 2014)

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

