Posted by: livingscripture | January 7, 2017

Saturday, January 7, 2017

 

 

 

WORD of the DAY

The people that lived in darkness have seen a great light; on those who lived in a country of shadow dark as death a light has dawned.  From then onwards Jesus began his proclamation with the message, ‘Repent, for the kingdom of Heaven is close at hand.    (Matthew  14:  )

How shall I live this Word?risen Jesus 1

We are nearing the end of the Christmas Season and we will soon be in ordinary time.  However, there is a light that can accompany us even in the hum drum of daily life.  Even more, it can exalted in a more regular schedule.  The strong times, the festive times are also days of agitation, of exceptional preparations, more than usual; they may be days of confusion, of distraction.  The ordinary, the usual, the routine allow us to put things, times, and habits in order.  Fidelity becomes easier in a moment of meditation, of contemplation, however brief, but able to influence our day and help our conversion along.  The renewed consciousness of Jesus, of His story, and of His word  in short times of listening and of personal prayer lived daily with fidelity can root us in His person and transform us.

These are the lights that dissipate the darkness that could make us sad and lose the meaning of our life.

Lord, grant that the light of what I have lived and understood in this Christmas season, generate in me a new way of living, of choosing, of loving.

A Prayer of Charles de Foucauld

My Father, I abandon myself to You, do with me what pleases You.

Thank You for what You do for me, I hope in You alone.

May Your will be done in me and in all my brothers and sisters.

I desire nothing else; do what You want.

Grant that I may recognize You,

grant that I may love You more and more.

Let me stay at Your side; let me be Love.

I place my life in Your hands with all the love of my heart,

my God I give it to You, because I love You immensely.

Yes, I need to give myself to You, to entrust myself into Your hands without measure

because You are my Father, because You are my Father.

___________________________________________________________________________________

Institute of the Daughters of Mary Help of Christians, Via dell’Ateneo Salesiano 81, 00139 Rome, Italy

E-mail: srmterzo@gmail.com – Website: www.sanbiagio.org  info@sanbiagio.org

Blog: livingscripture.wordpress.com

Comment by Sr. Sylvia Biglietti, FMA

Leave a Reply

Categories

