Posted by: livingscripture | December 19, 2016

Fourth Monday of Advent

 

WORD of the DAYdb_5-visitation1

But the angel said to him, “Do not be afraid, Zechariah, because your prayer has been heard. Your wife Elizabeth will bear you a son, and you shall name him John.

Zechariah asked the angel, “How can I be sure of this? I am an old man and my wife is well along in years.”   The angel said to him, “I am Gabriel. I stand in the presence of God, and I have been sent to speak to you and to tell you this good news.  And now you will be silent and not able to speak until the day this happens, because you did not believe my words, which will come true at their appointed time.”  (Luke 1: 13/18-20)

How shall I live this Word?

Let us enter into this scene of Zechariah when the angel Gabriel appears to him and brings him the glad tidings that of the answer to Zechariah’s own prayer.  The first message of the angel to him and to us as well is “Don’t be afraid!”  And the angel immediately adds, “Your prayer has been answered!”  What you desired with your whole heart, what is vital for you, the Lord knows and responds beyond all your expectations.  Zechariah wanted a son, and God gives him the Precursor, John the Baptist who will in fact be the one to prepare the way of the Savior.

But Zechariah’s faith is still weak, like ours, when we ask but doubt because we don’t really think God can do it.  Even in the weakness of our faith, the words of God appear and just as Zechariah received his wish, we too, at the right time, will see our desire granted.  God is Promised-Fulfillment, beyond all the difficulties and even incredulity.  Trust Him!

Lord, I believe, I hope, I love You. Increase my faith, sustain my hope, rekindle my love.   

 The Voice of Paola Adamo, a young woman of faith

The difficult does not exist; the impossible only needs some time.  If you believe in God you have the world in your hand.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

