Posted by: livingscripture | December 10, 2016

Second Saturday of Advent

 

WORD of the DAY

 

Then the disciples asked him, “Why do the scribes say that Elijah must come first?” He said in reply,  “Elijah will indeed come and restore all things; but I tell you that Elijah has already come, and they did not recognize him but did to him whatever they pleased. So also will the Son of Man suffer at their hands.”   Then the disciples understood that he was speaking to them of John the Baptist.             (Mt 17,10-13)

 

 How shall I live this Word?healing_of_the_blind_man_jekel_t[1]

 The man of God “they did not recognize him but did to him whatever they pleased.  So also will the Son of Man suffer at their hands”.

The human heart and mind risk erecting an idol of themselves and no longer recognize the True, the Beautiful, and the Good if they do not enter into a serious journey of conversion to Truth, to Purity, to Humility.

The prophets are here today among us.  We have Jesus who is with us, as He taught us: “I was hungry and you gave me to eat; I was thirsty and you gave me to drink; I was a stranger and you took me in; I was naked and you clothed me; sick and you visited me; in jail and you came to see me.  In truth I tell you, whatever you did for the least of my people, you did for me”.

 Lord, heal the eyes of our heart so that we can recognize You in our sisters and brothers who are in our midst.

 The Voice of Pope Francis

It is asked of us to be vigilant like sentinels so that it will not happen that, with the poverty produced by the culture of comforts, the gaze of Christians weakens and become unable to see the essential.  Look at the essential.  What does this mean?  Look at Jesus, look at Jesus who is in those who hunger, are in jail, are sick, are naked, in those who are unemployed and have to support a family.  Look at Jesus in these brothers and sisters; look at Jesus in those who are alone, sad, in those who make mistakes and need counsel; in those who need to journey with Him in silence so that they will feel accompanied.  These are the works that Jesus asks of us!  Look at Jesus in them, in these people.  Why?  So that Jesus will look at me; will look at all of us. (Jubilee Audience, June 30, 2016)

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

