Posted by: livingscripture | November 18, 2016

33rd Friday of Ordinary Time

 

 

From the Word of the Day

 Then Jesus entered the temple area  and proceeded to drive out those who were selling things, saying to them, “It is written, ‘My house shall be a house of prayer, but you have made it a den of thieves”. (Luke 19: 45-46)

  How should we live this Word   jesus14 

The Gospel continues to show the immediate reaction of the high priests and scribes to these words of Jesus.  They want to kill Him but they are afraid of the crowds who hung on His words.  It is a fact that Jesus was no coward, afraid to speak; He was not a politician who continually flip flops on what he says according to how the wind is blowing.

Jesus is the Truth in person.  His words are sometimes stinging as in this case against those who were profaning the holiness of God’s house in order to make money.

Lord, how splendid You are in Your courage of the Truth; how authentic; tender with the lost sheep, stern with those who live only to make money.

Help me, dear Jesus to be myself, my true self in my thinking, my speaking, my acting. Help me to do this even when I know that if I support the truth and praxis taught by Your Church, I may arouse dissension and unpleasant contrasts. Lord, give me the strength and the beauty of being an authentic Christian.

 The voice of Pope Benedict XVI

 A Jesus who agrees with everything and everyone; a Jesus without His holy anger; without the hardness of the truth and of true love, is not the true Jesus that the Scripture shows us, but only a miserable caricature. 

 

 

­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­

Leave a Reply

Categories

