Posted by: livingscripture | May 5, 2016

Sixth Thursday of Easter

 

From the Word of the Day

Jesus went on to say, “In a little while you will see me no more, and then after a little while you will see me.”   At this, some of his disciples said to one another, “What does he mean by saying, ‘In a little while you will see me no more, and then after a little while you will see me,’ and ‘Because I am going to the Father’?”  They kept asking, “What does he mean by ‘a little while’? We don’t understand what he is saying.”   Jesus saw that they wanted to ask him about this, so he said to them, “Are you asking one another what I meant when I said, ‘In a little while you will see me no more, and then after a little while you will see me’?   Very truly I tell you, you will weep and mourn while the world rejoices. You will grieve, but your grief will turn to joy.                          (John 16: 16-20)

 How should we live this Word teaching 3

When something is preached that is limited, insecure, or uncertain, we defend ourselves and we do not understand.  Our doubt, our fear, our anxiety before something that we do not understand is well understood by Jesus; “My word is not yet on my lips and already, Lord, you know it”  (Cf. Psalm 130).  These words of Jesus keep us from despairing and feeling alone before all which seems absurd, and that instills fear.  He understands and even foresees our questions to assure us that He has understood our discomfort.

The Teacher is present to life and in the life of His disciples even in this moment that involves everyone in a destiny of struggle and victory.  Our life will not be different from that of the Lord, but He has told us that He understands, that He is with us, and has promised us that “for a little while” and then our sadness will be turned into joy!  Let us trust in Him!

Jesus, I trust in YOU! 

The Voice of Blaise Pascal, Believer – Prayer of Trust in God 

My God, I not only confide in You, I also trust You.  Give me the Spirit of Abandonment to accept the things I cannot change.  Give me the Spirit of Strength to change the things I can change.  Give me the Spirit of Wisdom to discern what effectively depends on me.  Then grant that I may do only Your holy Will.  Amen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

