Posted by: livingscripture | May 4, 2016

Sixth Wednesday of Easter

 

From the Word of the Day

I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear.  But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all the truth.  He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come.  He will glorify me because it is from me that he will receive what he will make known to you.  All that belongs to the Father is mine. That is why I said the Spirit will receive from me what he will make known to you.   (John 16: 12-15)

  How should we live this Word   holyspirit[1]

Easter, with its Mystery of Death and Resurrection, has revealed Jesus’ immense love for us.  Easter has given us the gift of the Holy Spirit who guides us to all Truth, that is, introduces us into the understanding of this great Love.  “When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all the truth”, but not because Jesus is a ‘half truth’.  Jesus is the Truth.  The Spirit’s task is to take us by the hand and introduce us into this Truth, making more and more understandable the things Jesus said that we have not understood because we were not yet ready to understand!

We will never finish understanding in our heart, the Word of Jesus, of seeing it alive, of actualizing it, and accomplishing it in our life today.  This is possible only in the measure in which the Spirit dwells in us and readies us to be like Jesus.  Only in this way can our humanity grow and enable us to taste and understand the Word with more awareness.  When Love enters the heart, it opens it to a loving understanding.

Come within me, Holy Spirit, into my heart and my intelligence.  Grant me Your intelligence so that I may know the Father in meditating on the Word of the Gospel.  Grant me Your ardor that even today, exhorted by Your Word, I may seek You in the events and persons that I meet.  Grant me Your wisdom that I may relive and judge what I have lived today in the light of Your Word.  Grant me perseverance so that I may patiently penetrate God’s message in the Gospel.  Grant me Your trust so that I may know from now how to be in mysterious communion with God as I await to immerse myself in Him in eternal life where His Word will finally be unveiled and fully accomplished.

The Voice of Antoine de Saint-Exupery, Author of the Little Prince

We can see well only with our heart; the essential is invisible to the eyes.

 

_______________________________________________________________________

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

