Posted by: livingscripture | May 3, 2016

Sixth Tuesday of Easter – Feast of Philip & James, Apostles

 

From the Word of the Day

Philip said to him,
“Master, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us.”
Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you for so long a time
and you still do not know me, Philip?
Whoever has seen me has seen the Father.
How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?
(John 14: 6-14) 

 How should we live this Word imagesCA0PVXCT

 “Show us the Father”.  Philip’s desire is our deepest longing.  Our souls seek God’s face.  We need nothing other than to see the Father because only in Him can we recognize ourselves!  But Jesus tells us, “Whoever has seen me has seen the Father”!

The face of the human Jesus is the Face.  The Gospel manifests Jesus, Face of the father.  This is the Christian revelation.  However, Jesus as man has suggested another way to overcome ourselves and encounter God’s face.  It is not an alternative, but in continuity: the face of our sisters and brothers.  We are called to recognize in their face the Face of Jesus in which shines forth the Face of the Father!  May Jesus never have to say to us what He said to Philip, “Have I been with you so long a time and you still do not know me?”

Lord, help me to go out of myself to be able to recognize You in my sisters and brothers and see in their faces and in their eyes God’s light. 

The Voice of Pope Francis 

Yes, dear young people, the Lord wants to meet you; wants to let Himself be seen by you.  You may ask me, how?  Even St. Teresa of Avila, born in Spain 500 years ago, asked her parents the same thing when she was little, “I want to see God”.  Then she discovered the way of prayer as ‘an intimate relationship of friendship with the One who loves us”.  This is why I ask you, “Do you pray?”  Do you know that you can speak with Jesus, with the Father, with the Holy Spirit the way you speak with your friend? And not with just any friend, but with your best and most faithful friend!  Try it with simplicity.  You will discover what a farmer of Ars said to the Pastor of his town: when I am in prayer before the Tabernacle, “I look at Him and He looks at me”.  (Pope Francis’s message for the XXX World Youth Day 2015)

_______________________________________________________________________

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

