Posted by: livingscripture | May 1, 2016

Sixth Sunday of Easter

 

 

From the Word of the Day

Jesus replied, “Anyone who loves me will obey my teaching. My Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them.  Anyone who does not love me will not obey my teaching. These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me.   “All this I have spoken while still with you.  But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.  Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.   “You heard me say, ‘I am going away and I am coming back to you.’ If you loved me, you would be glad that I am going to the Father, for the Father is greater than I.  I have told you now before it happens, so that when it does happen you will believe.                                 (John 14: 23-29)

 

 How should we live this Word   image037-praise

When someone loves, they do not find it hard to live what the friend says or asks for; it is a logical consequence!

The word of the beloved has a special flavor, that of good, of affection, of trust.  Jesus tells us this, “If you love me, obey my teaching”.  The Word asks us to live Him, to be one thing with Him, and He will open us to the presence of the Father who enters, with the Word made life, into the heart of those who love His Son, as into His own house and they become His dwelling place.  With Jesus, we too can say, “We are not alone because the Father is with us”.

Our happiness comes from the God who dwells in us, in our heart.  Inhabited by the Father and the Son we are full of the gift of the Spirit, of the Love that exists among them.  The Spirit has the task to remind the heart of the Word.  The Spirit becomes our memory, our Teacher who teaches us to penetrate the meaning of the Word.  “The advocate will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said”.  He will help us to live today as God’s children in the Son, of risen ones in the Risen One, of witnesses of Love and in Love! 

The Voice St. Teresa of Avila, Carmelite Mystic 

O Holy Spirit, You unite my soul to God: move it with ardent desires and light it with the fire of Your love.  My God and my Creator, is it possible that there are those who do not love You?  I did not love You for a long time.  Forgive me, Lord.  O Holy Spirit, grant that my soul may belong totally to God and serve Him without any personal interests, but only because He is my Father and He loves me.  My God and my All, is there anything else that I can desire?  You alone are enough for me.  Amen.

 _______________________________________________________________________

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

