Posted by: livingscripture | April 26, 2016

Fifth Tuesday of Easter

 

From the Word of the Day

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.  You heard me say, ‘I am going away and I am coming back to you.’ If you loved me, you would be glad that I am going to the Father, for the Father is greater than I.  I have told you now before it happens, so that when it does happen you will believe.             (John 14: 27-29)

 How should we live this Word   lwjas0152

These words of today’s Liturgy belong to the ‘farewell discourse’ of Jesus.  They seek to give a glance on the future because they can help the disciples live the present and prepare for tomorrow.  They want to orient the hearts of the disciples to realities greater than the usual routine of each day and offer a deeper understanding of the events that are about to happen.

They constitute the precious spiritual testament left as a heritage by the Lord before His definitive departure.  The words have a special tone because they anticipate the new reality that will lead to the faith witness of those who will remember them.  They are words that are handed over to another Teacher by Jesus, the Holy Spirit, who will teach the community and help them to be recalled in every historical epoch so that they can be lived in a new way, adapted to the needs of the times.

One of the important words we find at the beginning of the Gospel is ‘Peace’.  The gift of Peace is strongly highlighted through its repetition and is not just a simple greeting.  Peace summarizes all the most precious gifts of life and of a person.  Therefore, the Peace that Christ gives cannot be compared in any way to the peace that the world can give, which is the fruit of compromises, of continuous wars, of violence, of hatred, and of oppression.  The King of Peace will never descend to compete with other sovereigns of this world, but will be let Himself be crowned as King on the throne of the Cross.

Today as I pause for silent reflection I will pray to the King of Peace so that He may grant His Church and each of us, the great Messianic gift of Shalom. 

The Voice of the Liturgy 

Lord Jesus Christ, You said to Your apostles, “My peace I leave you; my peace I give you”, look not on our sins, but on the faith of Your Church and give us unity and peace according to Your will.  You who live and reign forever and ever.  Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

