Posted by: livingscripture | April 12, 2016

Third Tuesday of Easter

 

From the Word of the Day

Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.  (John 6: 35)

 

 How should we live this WordJesus food 1

To the Jews who asked for a sign, Jesus gives the sign par excellence: the bread of life that comes from heaven.  It will not be like the manna that also came from Heaven, but was material bread.  Jesus is the true bread of life, always and continually in our midst with His Word and His Eucharist.  But all of this requires faith and eyes open to discover the prodigies worked by God in the person of Jesus and also to see the small and great miracles in our daily life.

It is not only the body that needs nourishment, but the soul needs spiritual food and the only one that can satisfy it is the Son of God, living bread that came down from Heaven and gives life to every Christian.

Jesus asks us to trust Him; to read the signs of His presence in the events of our daily life, going beyond the appearances, overcoming the pessimism that can be present in our personal history.

My Jesus, I believe that You are in the Most Blessed Sacrament.  I love You above every other thing and I desire You in my heart.  I embrace You and unite myself to You.  Do not permit me to ever be separated from You.  (Spiritual Communion) 

The Voice of Elizabeth of the Trinity, Contemporary Mystic 

The Eucharist is the fullness of Divine Love.  Here Jesus does not only give us His merits and sufferings, but all of Himself.

_______________________________________________________________________

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

