Posted by: livingscripture | March 23, 2016

Wednesday of Holy Week

 

From the Word of the Day

 Then one of the Twelve, the man called Judas Iscariot, went to the chief priests and said, ‘What are you prepared to give me if I hand him over to you?’ They paid him thirty silver pieces, and from then onwards he began to look for an opportunity to betray him.  And while they were eating he said, ‘In truth I tell you, one of you is about to betray me. They were greatly distressed and started asking him in turn, ‘Not me, Lord, surely?’  He answered, ‘Someone who has dipped his hand into the dish with me will betray me. The Son of man is going to his fate, as the scriptures say he will, but alas for that man by whom the Son of man is betrayed! Better for that man if he had never been born!’  (Matthew 26: 14-16; 21-24)

How should we live this Word ED-AN434_howmur_G_20110420165502

Today, we again see the dark and disquieting figure of Judas, the traitor.  This serves as a serious admonishment of what can happen even to an apostle, like Judas, who was at the Teacher’s school for a long time.  He had listened to His Word and had enjoyed His friendship.  It is not as difficult as it seems to betray Jesus.  It is enough to not believe in His love; to not allow ourselves to be loved and forgiven by Him for our small or great betrayals and, instead, follow our own pride.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will beg Jesus to help me to keep faithful to Him always.

 The Voice of Fr. Primo Mazzolari, Homily of Holy Thursday, 1958

Let me think a moment about the Judas I have inside of me, to the Judas that is perhaps inside of you.  Let me ask Jesus, to Jesus in agony, to Jesus who accepts us as we are.  Let me ask as an Easter gift that He call me friend.  Easter is this word said to a poor Judas like me; said to the poor Judases like you.  This is joy, that Christ loves us; that Christ forgives us; the Christ does not want us to despair.  Even when we always revolt against Him continually, even when we curse, even when we refuse the priest at the last moment of our life, remember that for Him, we are always friends.

 _______________________________________________________________________

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

