Posted by: livingscripture | March 4, 2016

Third Friday of Lent

 

 

From the Word of the Day

Assyria will not save us, nor will we mount horses; we will never again say, ‘Our god,’ to the work of our hands; for in you the orphan finds compassion.  I will heal their apostasy; I will love them freely; for my anger is turned away from them.  I will be like the dew for Israel: he will blossom like the lily; He will strike root like the Lebanon cedar…   (Hosea 14: 4-6) 

How should we live this Wordimage078- worship

The peoples who live in the areas next to the Hebrew people were idolaters and Assure was a divinity dear to the inhabitants of Syria.  The prophet Hosea clearly affirms here that we cannot expect salvation from idols made by human hands.  These idols were made by hand, sculpted out of rock or wood.  Hosea lends his voice to the true God who reveals Himself, manifesting His great mercy.  The expressions reveal the tenderness of God who is not only paternal but maternal as well.  After having said that He will heal all the gravely ill, which is infidelity; He promises them a love so deep that it cannot vanish.  Then, the promise of a love that cannot be made banal is given through an image that has the lightness and the delicacy of dew on the grass of the field.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will read the words of this passage over and over and let them fall upon my heart like the morning dew.

Lord, I ask You, heal my wounds, the result of my sins.  Cultivate in me a simple and good heart that, like the grass of the field, opens to the vivifying kiss of Your being even dew for me. 

The Voice of Pope Francis

Every Christian is missionary in the measure in which they witness to God’s love.  Be missionaries of God’s tenderness.

________________________________________________________________________

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

