Posted by: livingscripture | March 3, 2016

Third Thursday of Lent

 

 

From the Word of the Day

This rather is what I commanded them: Listen to my voice; then I will be your God and you shall be my people. Walk exactly in the way I command you, so that you may prosper.  (Jeremiah 7: 23) 

How should we live this Word image004-light to my feet

Faith, our Hebrew/Christian faith is a faith of listening.  It is privileged above the other senses because God, unlike the gods invented by human imagination, is not a mute idol but a God who speaks to His creatures, to His children.  This premise is to say that, if God has spoken in the Bible, the Old Testament testifies that He has said important things for our life.  In the New Testament, and especially in the Gospels, we find vital words for our salvation, the very words pronounced by the Lord Jesus.

Since God’s Word is alive and efficacious even for us today, we are called to activate a listening heart, that is, often to give ourselves times of silence so that the Word of God many enter into us, question us, help us to continually straighten the road we are following and thus happily reach the goal.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I shall ponder the words of Jesus each day and let them speak to me personally.

Lord, Your Word ‘illumines as it reveals itself and gives wisdom to the simple”.  Give me a simple heart so that I may be ever listening to the WORD in Sacred Scripture, illuminated by the Pope’s teachings.  Let it speak to me, educate me, help me, with Your Grace, to discern good from evil, and to choose to do the good always and at whatever cost.

The Voice of Pope Francis

Do not complicate the Gospel.  It is enough to listen to it, live it, and practice it.  We must not limit ourselves to reading it, but ask ourselves in what way the words speak to our life.

________________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

