Posted by: livingscripture | February 28, 2016

Third Sunday of Lent

 

 

From the Word of the Day

This is what you shall tell the Israelites: “I AM sent me to you.”      (Exodus 3: 14))                                

How should we live this Wordburning bush

When Moses is on Mount Horeb, he has the great revelation of God who teaches him the Ten Commandments as the road to life for the Israelites.  It is a moment of great importance, not only for the Jewish people, but for all the people of the earth.  In fact, it is a moment in which the name of God and His identity are unveiled.

I AM, in fact, discloses the mysterious name of the Lord and reveals who God is:  BEING par excellence and therefore the source of every creature that receives being from Him. However, this I AM remains always mysterious: it names the essence root of every other being.  This should evoke in us a great sense of awe.  If You are my God, You are the great I AM, then I am a little I am because You have created me in Your image and likeness.  Small certainly, because it is limited by my creature state, but great because it draws from and participates in the ‘creative breath’ that is Your ‘I AM’.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I entreat You, God to help me understand my deep dignity as Your child, made in Your image and likeness.  Let me see this same dignity in every person I meet.

Dear God, thank You for the great privilege of being made in Your image and likeness! 

The Voice of an anonymous writer 

The true nobility of God’s children is revealed in their style of life that is simple, moderate, and able to open itself to discussion and dialogue with everyone.

________________________________________________________________________

Provincial House 655 Belmont Av Haledon, NJ   07508

E-mail: srmterzo@gmail.com – Website: www.sanbiagio.org     Blog: livingscripture.wordpress.com

Comment by Sr. Maria Pia Giudici, FMA

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

