Posted by: livingscripture | February 22, 2016

Second Monday of Lent – Chair of St. Peter

 

 

From the Word of the Day

He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?”  Simon Peter said in reply, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”  Jesus said to him in reply, “Blessed are you, Simon son of Jonah.  For flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but my heavenly Father”.    (Matthew 16: 15-17)                                    

How should we live this Word jesus14

Who is Jesus for me?  This is the decisive question that today’s Gospel asks every woman and man who wants to follow Him.  Jesus of Nazareth had been walking the roads of Galilee for a few years now and His fame has spread even to Judea.  Some seek Him for His miracles; others are suspicious of Him because He subverts their expectations of a powerful Messiah.  One day, He is with His disciples and Jesus asks them information on what the people think and say of Him.  The answers differ, but Jesus wants a more precise response:  “But who do you say that I am?  You who follow Me, who live with Me, who listen to Me, and are witnesses of my words and actions, of my style of life.

Perhaps, after an embarrassing silence, Simon Peter with boldness, courage, and conviction exclaims: “You are the Christ, the Son of the Living God”.  It is the Spirit who has spoken in him.  This is why Jesus calls him blessed.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will try to respond to this question:  Who is Jesus for me?  Do I see Him and feel Him as the foundation of my life?  Do I feel Him as a presence always beside me, who transforms and shapes my life every day?

Lord Jesus, I adore You always present in my life! 

The Voice of Pope Francis 

God caresses our wounds.  We look at the sky; so many stars, so many stars, but when the sun rises in the morning with so much light, we cannot see the stars.  This is how God’s mercy is:  a bright light of love, of tenderness.  God forgives with a caress, caressing our wounds.

________________________________________________________________________

Provincial House 655 Belmont Av Haledon, NJ   07508

E-mail: srmterzo@gmail.com – Website: www.sanbiagio.org     Blog: livingscripture.wordpress.com

Comment by Sr. Graziella Curti, FMA

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

