Posted by: livingscripture | February 18, 2016

First Thursday of Lent

 

From the Word of the Day

Which one of you would hand his son a stone when he asked for a loaf of bread or a snake when he asked for a fish?  If you then, who are wicked, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will you heavenly Father give good things to those who ask him?  (Mark 7: 7-12)

 How should we live this Word 100_0115

In today’s Gospel, Jesus explains to us, making reference to our earthly experience of family life, that even in the area of prayer we need to always keep in mind the existential rapport between father and child.  The child asks with confidence because it knows that the father will give it what it needs.  On the other hand, because of his great love for his child, the father cannot remain deaf to its requests.

Jesus then raises it to the divine level.  If this rapport between father and child is true in our earthly experience among us who are wicked, how infinitely more is it true in our rapport with the heavenly Father!  In fact, Christian prayer is never a gesture done before a vending machine that gives us what we choose.  It presupposes a filial dialogue with the Father who ‘knows what we need before we ask Him”.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will spend time with the Father in trustful colloquy and thanksgiving.

My Father, I place all my trust in You!

The Voice of Charles de Foucauld 

My Father, I abandon myself to You; do with me what pleases You.  Whatever you do with me, I thank You.  I am ready for everything.  May Your will always be done in me, in all creatures.  I desire nothing else, my God.  I entrust my soul into Your hands.  I give it to You, my God, with all the love of my heart because I love You and my love needs to give me to You, to place myself in Your hands without reserve, with infinite trust because You are my Father.

________________________________________________________________________

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

