Posted by: livingscripture | February 6, 2016

Fourth Saturday in Ordinary Time

 

From the Word of the Day

Now, Lord, my God, you have made me, your servant, king to succeed David my father; but I am a mere youth, not knowing at all how to act, your servant, among the people you have chosen, a people so vast that it cannot be numbered or counted. Give your servant, therefore, a listening heart to judge your people and to distinguish between good and evil. Who is able to give judgment for this vast people of yours?” (1 Kings 3: 7-9)

How should we live this Wordimage037-praise

Even the figure of Solomon presents elements of wisdom lived responsibly and with complete trust in God.  Above all, he is conscious of his limits.  His youth will certainly not help him rule as an expert.   He speaks to God with great simplicity, telling Him that he really does not know how to rule and how to act.  What is really striking is that he is not discouraged, nor does he refuse to accept what God has prepared for him.

On the contrary, he puts his painful tension and his preoccupations entirely into prayer.  The Lord is there to suggest to him the very words of the prayer that is so courageous and trustful at the same time

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will place all my trust in God who is always there to listen to me and to help me.

Lord Jesus, You who came to cure the sick, I beg You to give me a heart that is docile to Your Word; a heart docile to accept what You want to tell me, so that I may live in obedience to Your will of peace and good for me and for all my sisters and brothers. 

The Voice of Hans Urs von Balthazar, Theologian 

Those who do not want to listen to God first, have nothing to say to the world.

______________________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

