Posted by: livingscripture | February 3, 2016

Fourth Wednesday in Ordinary Time

 

From the Word of the Day

The angel of the Lord was then standing at the threshing floor of Araunah the Jebusite.  When David saw the angel who was striking the people, he said to the Lord: “It is I who have sinned; it is I, the shepherd, who have done wrong. But these sheep, what have they done? Strike me and my father’s family!”  (2 Samuel 24: 16-17)

How should we live this Word151900

 David had committed sins of pride and presumption.  In his great thirst for power, he becomes curious to know the number of the population over whom he reigned.  However, after he had obtained the exact information of those subject to him, he had remorse of heart for his errant behavior and asked the Lord to remove his guilty conscience because “I have committed great foolishness”.

God accepts David’s repentance and proposes to correct him through a punishment motivated by the desire to see him return to the right path.  David chooses the punishment of the plague but when he sees the suffering that has fallen upon his people who were dying, he tells the Lord, “It is I the shepherd who have sinned.  But these sheep, what have they done?”  He asks the Lord to strike him and spare the people.

This is a man who lived, often letting himself be ruled by his impetuous character and his passionate tendencies.  However, he is a true man and does not refuse to face his own sins and to denounce them in his conscience.  What’s more, in a sense of justice solidly united to charity, he asks that he himself suffer the evil so that his people may be spared.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will repent of all my sins, especially if they have caused harm to others.

Thank You, Lord for the intense and diverse personality of David who does not hide his sins, but in a certain sense, assumes those of the people as well and asks God that his people be spared from punishment.  He even asks that the punishment fall on him rather than them.  Take me out of my egoism, Lord, free me from its negative effects and help me to be generous in regard to others.  Let me be like You who took my sins and those of the whole world upon Yourself to save all those who entrust themselves to You.

 The Voice of Pope Saint John Paul II

 Mercy is the indispensable dimension of love.  It is like its second name. 

______________________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

