Posted by: livingscripture | January 28, 2016

Third Thursday in Ordinary Time

 

 

From the Word of the Day

He also said to them, ‘Is a lamp brought in to be put under a tub or under the bed? Surely to be put on the lamp-stand?

(Mark 4: 21)

How should we live this Word800-hanuka1[1]

When a winter day is overcast as it is today at San Biagio, and there is only a small window to let in the light, I find very precious the gesture of a Sister who brings a good lamp to brighten my room.  It is obvious that if the lamp had been placed under the closet or the bed, it would have been one more thing cluttering my tiny room.  Thus I experience the happy and festive light of this lamp, placed just so in my room.

Close your eyes and picture the story Jesus is telling.  It is evidence of the consoling and impelling truth.  You who are reading this are a light!  No need for false humility because this is true.  Your Baptism allows you to welcome the presence of Jesus into Your light.  Paul writes about what Jesus had revealed to him and he calls us ‘children of the light’.  Put aside all false timidity and live the teachings of Jesus each day, above all the one that includes all the others: love of God that is realized in us in the measure in which we try to love of our neighbor.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will reflect on the light of the Word of God and my call to be light for others.

Lord, give me the Light of Your Word and Life so that I may be a living Gospel.  Help me to perform even the most humble gestures of daily life, remaining in contact with You and communicating You to those You have asked me to love in You.

The Voice of St. Thomas of Aquinas, Theologian

When faith does not agree with reason, we need to abstain from giving reason to faith.

______________________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

