Posted by: livingscripture | January 10, 2016

Baptism of Jesus

 

 

From the Word of the Day

After all the people had been baptized and Jesus also had been baptized and was praying, heaven was opened and the Holy Spirit descended upon him in bodily form like a dove.  And a voice came from heaven, “You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased”.

(Luke 3: 21-22)

How should we live this Wordjesus-baptism

 The marvelous words that resound today in the Gospel, the Feast of the Baptism of Jesus: “You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased”, have been also pronounced over me and you on the day of our Baptism, “You are my beloved child!”

On the occasion of every Christian Baptism we are reborn as children of God; adopted children in the only begotten Son; Christians in Jesus Christ.  At that same instant, the newborn cries out in its heart a response to the Father’s declaration of love, “Abba, Father!”  “You are my Son”, this brief phrase of the Father continues to echo through the centuries in the heart of all of us who have been baptized.  They are enough because Love is enough in itself!

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will reflect that there is nothing left but to listen at length to the Spirit who responds within us, “Abba, Father.  Behold Your child!”

Jesus, thank You for making me the adopted child of Your Father, Your own brother/sister! 

The Voice of Ignatius of Antioch, Martyr and Bishop 

Living water speaks within me, and tells me:  Come to the Father!

_______________________________________________________________________________

Provincial House 655 Belmont Av Haledon, NJ   07508

E-mail: srmterzo@gmail.com – Website: www.sanbiagio.org     Blog: livingscripture.wordpress.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

