Posted by: livingscripture | January 9, 2016

Saturday after Epiphany

 

From the Word of the Day

“The friend of the bridegroom, who stands and hears him, rejoices greatly at the bridegroom’s voice; therefore, this joy of mine is now full.  He must increase, but I must decrease.”     (John 3, 29-30)

How should we live this WordJohn points

John’s Gospel notes that even Jesus began to baptize not far from where John was baptizing.  Some were alarmed by this and went to the Precursor to inform him of it.  “He is baptizing and all are going to him.”

It is clear that John’s disciples are envious.  Where a weed puts down roots, it supplants peace and renders joy impossible.  But the Baptist knows that his task is nearing completion.  “You yourselves bear me witness that I said, I am not the Christ.”   By declaring himself the ‘friend of the bridegroom’, he manifests his admiring affection for Him and says precisely, “He must increase, but I must decrease”.  The people’s admiration must grow for Him.

John’s joy is complete by giving everything over to Jesus.  How splendid is this humility of John!  His way of being teaches us the way to joy!

 Today, in my pause for contemplation, I will recall the times when I am contradicted or sick and I center on my suffering.  It even happens that the success and the serenity of others sometimes annoy me!

I will gaze on Jesus, the Spouse par excellence, and I will listen to His Word.  Then, as the first reading exhorts me, I will trustfully ask that the Lord free me from that which impedes my joy at knowing that I am loved by Him and that prevents my joy from spreading as He wills it to.  I know that through faith, I already have what I am asking for!

The voice of Abbot Pierre, contemporary saint

Life is here in its proof.  Human existence calls each one to interrogate self and to listen to this question, “Why have I been born?”.  The answer does not lend itself to equivocation.  “You have been born to love.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

