Posted by: livingscripture | December 12, 2015

Second Saturday of Advent/ Our Lady of Guadalupe

From the Word of the Day

“Then the disciples asked him: ‘Why do the Scribes say that Elijah must come first?’  He responded, “Yes, Elijah will re-establish everything.  But I say to you, Elijah has already come and they did not recognize him; rather, they did with him what they wanted.  In the same way, the Son of Man must suffer because of them’.  Then the disciples understood that he was speaking to them about John the Baptist.”     

(Matthew 17: 10-13)

How should we live this Wordguadalupe

 John the Baptist incarnates the spirit and the power that had distinguished the prophet Elijah when he was alive.  In fact, both of them preached with strong words of conversion and repentance, of the essentials, and of the desert that is against all falsity, duplicity, corruption.  Elijah/John the Baptist: are figures of the precursor who prepares the way of the Lord.

How many times in our life and in our day, we do not recognize those who are the precursors of the Lord!  And yet, they are close.  Without this spouse, this family, this work, this sickness, this concrete history we are called to live, we would not meet the Lord!  They are the ones who prepare us for the advent of the Messiah…and beckon us to continual conversion.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I shall ask Jesus to help me be more attentive to those who are leading me to Him in my daily life.

Lord, grant that I may know Your passing in the routine of my day, in my work, in those around me.  Let my heart be sensitive to Your Presence as I prepare for Your birthday!

 The Voice of Pope Francis

 John indicates Jesus to us with his witness and invites us to follow him.   He tells us quite clearly that this requires humility, repentance, conversion.  It is an invitation to humility, repentance, and conversion.

Leave a Reply

Categories

