Posted by: livingscripture | December 11, 2015

Second Friday of Advent

 

From the Word of the Day

“To what can I compare this generation?  It is like children who sit in the marketplaces and call to one another, ‘We played the flute for you, but you did not dance, we sang a dirge but you did not mourn.’ For John came neither eating nor drinking, and they said, ‘He is possessed by a demon.’  The Son of Man came eating and drinking and they said, ‘Look, he is a glutton and a drunkard, a friend of tax collectors and sinners’.  But wisdom is vindicated by her works.”     

(Matthew 11: 16-19)

How should we live this WordLent-180x300[1]

 We are never satisfied with anything!  This children’s game is one that mimics the fundamental reality of life: the dancing for weddings and the mourning for death.  Jesus takes this as an example to tell us how, before each situation, we have a responsibility to exercise and we must not want the opposite of what is ontologically written in the reality that God proposes.  To want everything is the contrary of everything; it is pointing our finger at others, subtracting ourselves from the duties that we are called upon to carry out, excavating in our heart an emptiness that is ever more bottomless!

Continuous grumbling is the sign of great discontent of heart and distances us from the possibility of taking in hand and restoring meaning to what we have chosen to live.  Let us courageously begin again to do our duty with great strength, taking up our cross and following Him.  Then peace of heart will illumine our mind and we will know how to discern what is good and what is evil with freedom of Spirit!

In my pause for silent contemplation, I shall listen to Jesus and do what He asks of me with love and freedom.

Lord, do not let my heart be proud and arrogant.  Do not allow me to go in search of things too grand for me, superior to my strength.  I am serene and tranquil like a weaned child in its mother’s arms.

 The Voice of the Desert Fathers

 I have never gone beyond my range to walk higher, nor have I been disturbed at humiliations because my every thought was this: in asking the Lord to despoil me of the ‘old man’.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

