Posted by: livingscripture | November 10, 2015

32nd Tuesday in Ordinary Time

From the Word of the Day

“God formed man to be imperishable; the image of his own nature he made them.”     

(Wisdom: 2: 23)

How should we live this WordRevelation144000JewsSEALED_250

 What joy to wake in the morning, open the window on to a sky that is leaving the darkness of night, and contemplate the light that makes all things new, as I thank God for the great gift of a life that cannot die!

Yes, the body is corruptible as everything that depends on the material aspect of creation.  But I am more than this marvelous body; I am above all, spirit, the breath of God that cannot die.  This breath will give new dynamism to my body at the end of time when it will rise again like Jesus who conquered death for us.

There are so many people who are deeply disturbed by death, especially that of a relative or friend.  How important it is for us to understand with a lively heart and with God’s help, how lacerating the loss of a dear one is and how important it is to offer a consolation that is not a moralistic sermon on eternal life.

However, this is not enough.  We need to use ways and words inspired by the Holy Spirit who speaks in our human heart and helps us intuit eternity in the Father’s house.  Jesus Himself told us, “I go to prepare a place for you” (John 14: 2), after He had assured us that there are many places in that house.

Yes, it is good to remember that already in the Book of Wisdom, an ancient treasure of the Old Testament, the Lord has given us a guarantee of the life that lasts forever.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will reflect with joy, anticipation, and serenity on sister death asking Jesus to help me live my daily life in accord with His law of love, so that I need not ever fear death.

Lord, You will be the joy of the eternal ever after which I already sense as I walk on the path of Christian Wisdom.  Please strengthen this hope each day in me so that it will pervade my entire life, especially when You call me to console someone who is living the drama of the death of a loved one.

 The Voice of St. Augustine, Father and Doctor of the Church

 Human beings go to contemplate the mountain peaks, the vast waves of the ocean, the wide currents of the rivers, the immensity of the oceans, the course of the stars, and they pass alongside themselves without marveling.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

