Posted by: livingscripture | November 3, 2015

32 st Tuesday in Ordinary Time

From the Word of the Day

“Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep.  Have the same regard for one another; do not be haughty but associate with the lowly. ”     

(Romans 12: 15-16)

How should we live this Wordmother_child_79[1]

 The Word exhorts us to give of ourselves, to live the fundamental human vocation of communion among one another.  This is ever more urgent today as we suffer voids of humanity and deserts of solitude.  Many times we are aware of being incapable of empathizing with others, of sharing their joys and their sufferings.  We close in on ourselves because we feel compromised.

The event of the Jubilee of Mercy urges us to make room for others with the same attention we would have for a part of our body that was the weakest and most suffering.  And even more; it invites us to express tenderness, which is the power of humble love.  It is ‘mercy that becomes touch’.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will ask Jesus to give me a compassionate heart that knows how to feel with others and share in their joys and sufferings.

O Lord, my heart is not proud, nor are my eyes haughty; I busy not myself with great things or with things too sublime for me.  I have stilled and quieted my soul like a weaned child…like a weaned child on its mother’s lap, so is my soul within me. Psalm 131

 The Voice of Steve Givens

 As I get older, I find myself more and more secure in the relationship between my soul and my God, for I feel increasingly like this weaned child, satisfied and secure but still growing, safe in the arms of God, the source of my sustenance and life.

_____________________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

Categories

