Posted by: livingscripture | November 2, 2015

COMMEMORATION of the FAITHFUL DEPARTED

From the Word of the Day

“The souls of the just are in the hand of God…they are in peace…God tried them and found they worthy of himself…Those who trust in him shall understand truth, and the faithful shall abide with him in love; because grace and mercy are with his holy ones, and his care is with his elect. ”     

(Wisdom 3: 1-9)

How should we live this WordJesus_103_small

 

The thought of death is always destabilizing.  It makes us face the fact that everything comes to an end.  It takes our future from us.  A beautiful death does not exist.  Death always deals with a trial that is the consequence of sin.  Jesus Himself felt anguished in the face of this painful door that opens onto mystery.

And yet, the death of a believer teaches us many things about life.  Above all, it teaches us humble and trustful abandonment to the Father.  Cardinal Martini was illumined by this thought when he wrote: “And I was pacified with the thought of dying when I understood that without death, we would never be able to make an act of total confidence in God.  In fact, in every challenging choice, we always have a safety net.  Instead, death forces us to entrust ourselves totally to God”.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will reflect that once out of the tunnel of my agony, I will contemplate the radiant face of our Creator and Father.

Dear Jesus, fill me with trust in you during my life and at the moment of my death.

 The Voice of J. Y. Quellec

 Jesus, listen to me.  I am not a native of Heaven and I well know that in Paradise the only autochthonous person is You.  I so desire to reach Your country and become its citizen forever.

Leave a Reply

Categories

