Posted by: livingscripture | June 30, 2015

Thirteenth Tuesday in Ordinary Time

From the Word of the Day

“As Jesus got into a boat, his disciples followed him.  Suddenly a violent storm came up on the sea, so that the boat was being swamped by waves; but he was asleep.  They came and woke him saying, ‘Lord, save us!  We are perishing!’  He said to them, ‘Why are you terrified, O you of little faith?’  Then he got up, rebuked the winds and the sea, and there was great calm.  The men were amazed and said, ‘What sort of man is this, whom even the winds and the sea obey?’.”

(Matthew 8: 23-27)

How should we live this Wordstilling the sea

 Fear and trust are two sentiments present in our heart.  Fear blocks; trust makes us walk.  If one grows, the other diminishes, and vice versa.  Fear comes from the knowledge of our limitations and relies on our own abilities.  Trust comes from the knowledge that God is our Father and counts on what He can do.  Limitations that lean on trust are the place of faith, the place of abandonment.  We cry out, “Save us!”   We touch the depths of our creature status and we are freed from our desire to save ourselves by our own strength.  Jesus slept for us and He awakened for us, to put us in place!  In the risen Jesus, the One who awoke, our fear is conquered and we are given our true identity again.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will place all my trust in Jesus.

Lord, free me from the desire to save myself and let me lean on You.  Save me from my pettiness and give me a martyr’s heart that knows how to love You.  Let me forget myself.  May Your Spirit fill me with Your Presence and Your strength.

 The Voice of John Kennedy

 God, I abandon myself into Your hands. Turn and turn this clay in Your hands as a potter.  Give it the shape You want and then break it, if You wish.  Ask; order what You want me to do.  Raised, humiliated, persecuted, misunderstood, calumniated, unconsoled, suffering, useless…nothing remains for me to say, after the example of Your Mother, but “Be it done to me as You say.”  Give me love par excellence.  Love for the cross but not for heroic crosses that could nourish my self-love, but those crosses that are repugnant.  The crosses that we meet every day in contradictions, failures, wrong judgments, coldness, rejection, being despised by others; in illness and bodily defects; in darkness of mind and in silence and aridity of heart.  Only then will You know that I love You, even if I do not know it.  This is enough for me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

