Posted by: livingscripture | June 5, 2015

Ninth Friday in Ordinary Time

From the Word of the Day

“The Lord sets captives free.  The Lord gives sight to the blind. The lord raises up those who are bowed down; the Lord loves the just.  The Lord protects strangers.”         (Psalm 146)

How should we live this Wordcreator-150x150[1]

 Today’s Responsorial Psalm is very comforting in what the Sacred Word communicates to us.  Substantially, it tells us that God’s fidelity endures forever and is shown in His bowing down over us, over our wounded nature that is so often in conditions of fatigue and suffering.

If we reflect that this encouragement comes from a passage that belongs to the Old Testament, we can revive our heart even by remembering how, in the New and Eternal Covenant wanted by Jesus, He stipulated with His Blood this unconditional promise of help that is always available to us on God’s part.

It is good to allow ourselves to be grasped in a special way by the next to the last assertion, “The Lord loves the just”.  This is so because the woman or man who is just because they live God’s teachings, return in some way the splendor of that image and likeness which the Creator’s infinite love gave to all human beings.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will read this Psalm over and over and let it comfort my spirit.

Lord, how consoling it is to read and re-read of Your constant paternal / maternal attitude toward us.  I beg You to help me really relish it in my life and let it be the renewal of spiritual energy that gives me a stronger will to commit myself to alleviate the fears of those who are migrants or poor or struck by misfortunes, and  need my affectionate and fraternal help.

 The Voice of Blessed Mother Teresa of Calcutta

My secret is infinitely simple.  I pray.  Through prayer, I become one thing with Christ in love.  Praying to Him is loving Him.

Leave a Reply

Categories

