Posted by: livingscripture | May 21, 2015

Seventh Thursday of Easter

From the Word of the Day

 “Lifting his eyes to Heaven, Jesus prayed saying: “I pray not only for these, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, so that they may all be one, as you, Father, are one in me and I in you, that they also may be in us, that the world may believe that you sent me.”

 (John 17: 20-21)

How should we live this Wordcommunity

 Today’s Gospel records Jesus’ ‘Priestly Prayer’, or better yet, His ‘Spiritual Testament’.  Before returning to the Father, Jesus feels the need to open His heart to His Apostles to manifest to them the secrets that lie in the depths of His soul.  The first of these touches us closely and makes our hearts leap with joy and exaltation.  Jesus clearly affirms, “I pray not only for these, but also for those who will believe in me through their word”.  Thus, we can be sure that He prayed also for us during His earthly life.  This should move us to the depths of our soul.  Before He died, Jesus thought of me and prayed for me!

What is the primary aim of Jesus’ prayer for each of us?  It is that of unity with Him and with the Father, “so that they may be one, as we are one, I in them and you in me, that they may be brought to perfection as one.”  Jesus wants to introduce us into the infinite current of Love that flows between Him and the Father and the Holy Spirit!

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will prepare myself for Pentecost, asking the Spirit to immerse me in Him, according to Jesus’ prayer, into the current of love that flows from the Father to the Son and the Holy Spirit.

O Father, may Your Spirit come and transform us interiorly with His gifts.  Create in us a new heart so that we may please You and cooperate in Your Plan of Salvation. Amen.

The Voice of Ignatius of Latakia, Contemporary Eastern Bishop

Without the Holy Spirit, God is distant; Christ remains in the past; the Gospel is a dead letter; the Church is simply an organization; authority is domination; mission is propaganda; worship is an evocation; Christian action is a slave morality.  But with the Holy Spirit, the cosmos is raised and is in the birth pangs of the Kingdom; humans struggle against the flesh; Christ is present; the Gospel is the power of life; the Church is the sign of Trinitarian communion; authority is liberating service; the mission is a Pentecost; Liturgy is memorial and anticipation; human activity is divinized.

Leave a Reply

Categories

