Posted by: livingscripture | May 19, 2015

Seventh Tuesday of Easter

From the Word of the Day

 “But now, compelled by the Spirit, I am going to Jerusalem.  What will happen to me there I do not know, except that in one way or another, the Holy Spirit has been warning me that imprisonment and hardships await me.  I consider life of no importance to me, if only I many finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus to bear witness to the Gospel of God’s grace.”  (Acts 20: 24)

How should we live this Wordimage004-light to my feet

 As we prepare for Pentecost, the first reading from Luke’s Acts provides us with a rapid sketch on the figure of St. Paul with a theme that is close to our interest, the Holy Spirit.  Luke describes Paul as he is leaving for Jerusalem, in an atmosphere of affection and general emotion as he bids farewell to the elders of Ephesus. He says that he is compelled by the Spirit, or, as the original text states, he is ‘chained’ by the Spirit.  Paul knows that he is entirely dependent on the Holy Spirit, irresistibly dominated by the Spirit, so much so as to let himself be guided by the Spirit even to where he would not want to go; where the Spirit gave him to understand he will find imprisonment and hardship.

St. Paul is our model in absolute docility to the Holy Spirit, as we saw in yesterday’s Lectio; and this even at the cost of much suffering and tribulation that are certainly not lacking in the lives of the great witnesses to the Gospel of God’s Grace.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will reflect on the sufferings of Christians in the world today and ask Jesus to give me their courage.

Omnipotent and merciful Father, grant that the Holy Spirit may come to dwell in me and transform me into the temple of His glory.  Amen. 

The Voice of St. Irenaeus, Bishop of the Early Church

The Lord Himself promised to send the Paraclete to put us in synergy with God. In fact, just as the flour cannot become one mass with the dough nor become one loaf without water, neither can we, a disunited multitude, become one Church in Christ without the Water that comes down from Heaven.  And just as the arid land cannot bring forth fruit without water, thus we too, plain, naked wood, would never have been able to bring forth the fruit of life without the Rain liberally sent from on high.

Leave a Reply

Categories

