Posted by: livingscripture | May 18, 2015

Seventh Monday of Easter

From the Word of the Day

 “While Apollos was at Corinth, Paul traveled through the interior of the country and down to Ephesus where he found some disciples.  He said to them, ‘Did you receive the Holy Spirit when you became believers?’  They answered him, ‘We have never even heard that there is a Holy Spirit’.”  (Acts 19: 1-2)

How should we live this Wordholyspirit[1]

 This Liturgical week will bring us to the great solemnity of Pentecost, the feast of the Holy Spirit.  Let us live these days in intense dedication and diligent preparation to receive the Spirit’s effusion in our hearts on that holy day.  We will reflect on all the texts that deal with the Holy Spirit.

The passage for today exactly describes, at a distance of two thousand years, the paradoxical situation that many people of our times do not even know who the Holy Spirit is.  “We have never even heard that there is a Holy Spirit”.  Let us ask the Lord to lead us to an ever greater, deeper, and more fruitful knowledge of His Holy Spirit.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I shall repeat the invocation to the Holy Spirit:

“Come, Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of Your faithful and enkindle in them the fire of Your love”.

The Voice of Venerable Fr. Joseph Quadrio, SDB

O Divine Spouse of my soul, today will ever be a memorable day for me.  Something will be renewed in my life today.  You will take its rudder and be my only guide.  I am a docile child in Your hands.  I solemnly renounce any opposition, contradiction, resistance, obstacle, or impediment to Your divine breath.  I definitively detest my pride, my desires, my tastes, my interests, and my competitive spirit.  You alone will make my heart beat.  I want to assume Your Name.  I will be called with Your sweet Name, with the name You give me in this new Baptism: ‘Docile to the Holy Spirit’.

Leave a Reply

Categories

