Posted by: livingscripture | May 8, 2015

Fifth Friday of Easter

From the Word of the Day

 “This is my commandment: love one another as I love you.  No one has grater love than this, to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.  You are my friends if you do what I command you.”   

(John 15: 12-14)

How should we live this Wordcbconsolator_t[1]

 Jesus loves us by giving His life for us and thus He proposes Himself as the model for every Christian.  We must love deeply, totally, without calculations, accepting His commandments, the first of which is love of God and love of neighbor.

Jesus did not only give us something; He gave Himself, He gave His life to save us.  In order to imitate His love, the Christian lives His “as I love you”.  It is a sacrificial love that bears fruit; that is the response to diversity; that knows how to accept others as they are.

By calling us His ‘friends’ and not servants, Jesus presents us with a high form of friendship that implies the gift of self without expecting anything in return, without repayment, and that is shown in concrete attitudes of help and gratuity.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will relish the friendship Jesus offers me and ask His help in living His attitudes toward the Father and my neighbor.

O God, help me to realize this prayer of welcome:  Lord, help me to be a friend to all, who awaits without tiring, who receives with goodness, and gives with love.  Help me to listen without tiring, and to thank with joy.  Let me be a friend who is always certain of finding what is needed.

The Voice of Susanna Tamaro, Italian Author

Friendship is one of the most beautiful sentiments to live because it gives richness, emotions, togetherness, and because it is absolutely gratuitous.  All at once, seeing and choosing, build a kind of intimacy.  The two can walk beside each other and grow together even though following different paths, even though far away, as we two, hundreds of thousands of miles apart.

Leave a Reply

Categories

