Posted by: livingscripture | May 4, 2015

Fifth Monday of Easter

From the Word of the Day

 “Whoever loves me will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our dwelling with him.”   (John 14: 23)

How should we live this Wordcbconsolator_t[1]

 Jesus introduces us into the depths of divine love with concreteness and realism.  If we love God, we live the attitudes of the Gospel teachings, basing our life on His commandment of reciprocal love.  We can experience the habitation of God, the tenderness of God, only if we love; if we abandon ourselves completely to His Word.  We need to meet God in the sacraments, the efficacious signs of His presence, and consider events in the light of Providence and Divine Will.  The Holy Spirit, bond of love between the Father and the Son, has been poured into our hearts and gives us the possibility of facing difficulties and overcoming them with joy.

In my pause for silent contemplation, I will relish the presence of God within me and ask to be ever more united with the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

O Lord, let Your Word penetrate deeply within me so that I may accomplish the mission that You have entrusted to me.  Let me feel Your tenderness and Your presence that dwells in my heart, and help me to proclaim Your love to all I meet.

The Voice of St. Gregory the Great

Those who truly love God observe His commandments.  God enters their hearts and remains there because God’s love so completely fills their hearts that at the time of temptation, they are not moved.  These are the ones who truly love, because illicit pleasure does not change their minds.

Leave a Reply

Categories

